What's New at Reiter's


 

 

$27.95
ISBN: 9780262028479
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mit Press - February 13th, 2015

Book Discussion & Signing:  Tuesday April 21st 6pm @ Reiter's

"The Least Likely Man" engagingly recounts the inside story of how the genetic code was deciphered in the 1960s -- not by Watson & Crick and their tribe of brilliant molecular biologists -- but by the least likely of scientists (Marshall Nirenberg) who did the least likely of experiments (filter binding assays). Despite its backwater beginnings, Nirenberg's table of the 64 DNA codons has achieved iconic status as the biologists' counterpart to Mendeleev's periodic table for chemists and Einstein's E=mc2 for physicists -- forming the first Holy Trinity for Science.


$39.95
ISBN: 9780262028813
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mit Press - March 13th, 2015

$27.95
ISBN: 9780691160528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Princeton University Press - April 20th, 2015

$22.95
ISBN: 9780674744431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harvard University Press - April 20th, 2015

$14.00
ISBN: 9781941393574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Regan Arts. - February 17th, 2015

"The first book to fully explain what ISIS is seeking and why they are such a threat to the world. An absolute must-read for anyone who wants to understand the risk we all face from radical Islam."
--Douglas E. Schoen, political analyst, author of " The Russia-China Axis: The New Cold War and America's Crisis of Leadership "


$29.95
ISBN: 9780691166261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Princeton University Press - January 25th, 2015

[Shiller] fully updates his argument here, adding new material (a chapter on the bond market, his 2013 Nobel lecture) and augmenting the text to reflect developments since the 2005 second edition. He vacuums up all manner of cultural phenomena, from the important (rising income inequality) to the possibly significant (Google Glass) to the trivial (Kim Kardashian), to reinforce his thesis, and he writes expressively, whether explaining arcane economic issues or illustrating how the story behind Mona Lisa's smile helps account for the painting's astonishing market value. A rare example of economic analysis, deeply respected within the discipline, wholly accessible to general readers."--"Kirkus"
 


$16.99
ISBN: 9781476784885
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/ Ted - February 3rd, 2015

A mathematician pulls back the curtain and reveals the hidden patterns--from dating sites to divorce, sex to marriage--behind the rituals of love ... applying mathematical formulas to the most common yet complex questions pertaining to love.


$24.95
ISBN: 9780691163130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Princeton University Press - September 7th, 2014

"It's hard to imagine how a short, balding Nobel Prize winner from Harvard could use economic theories to help solve mysteries, but Jevons manages it, with a sense of humor and a whole lot of economics."--"HowMysterious.com"


$35.00
ISBN: 9780307594716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - February 24th, 2015

"This is Bruce Hoffman's magnum opus. Hoffman asks an uncomfortable question: 'Does terrorism work?' And he provides an uncomfortable answer in this deeply researched account of the Jewish terrorists who forced the British out of Palestine: Sometimes it does. Hoffman brings great analytic rigor to a history that is based on a deep dive into the relevant archives, many of which were hitherto secret and have been recently declassified. This is the definitive account of one of the key factors in the formation of Israel." -- Peter Bergen is the author of "Manhunt: The Ten-Year Search for Bin Laden from 9/11 to Abbottabad"
 


$19.95
ISBN: 9780691157283
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Princeton University Press - September 22nd, 2014

"If you've ever wondered which pathologies are responsible for the stiff and murderous personalities of zombies, this actual scientific explainer is the book for you."--"Mental Floss"


$27.95
ISBN: 9780691138633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Princeton University Press - September 28th, 2014

"In this elegant and thoughtful discussion that draws on literature and films as well as military case law, Walsh thoroughly explores how the concept of cowardice has evolved as a result of changes in the way societies understand morality, human nature, and the nature of war. In the end, he argues, societies need a firm concept of cowardice; without it, they cannot grasp what it means to act courageously."--Lawrence D. Freedman, "Foreign Affairs"


$16.95
ISBN: 9780393349726
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 20th, 2014

"For fans of Lynn Truss's Eat's, Shoots, and Leaves, this bestiary of lesser-known punctuation marks is a wonder. "


Subscribe to Reiter's Books RSS